Maybin is BRC road race champion

Dessie Blackadder


Dessie Blackadder

BALLYMENA Road Club had 21 members signed on to compete over the 30 mile circuit.

As predicted a long climb out of Broughshane was to be the deciding factor that split the bunch on both occasions the riders had to overcome it.

Four riders came over the top on the first climb, consisting of Maybin, Smyth, McMullan and Lawrence.

And they were to stay away for the remainder of the race. Maybin again kicked on the last few miles and finished solo from the other 3 riders.

The remaining riders separated on the second time up the climb with Eileen Burns pulling away and finishing on her own. Phillip Morrison, caught in no mans land between Burns and the remaining riders also finished solo and took the vets prize.

Well done to all competitors, winners, time keepers and Marshalls.

Results: 1. Richard Maybin; 2. Luke McMullan; 3. Rob Lawrence; 4. Katharine Smyth; 5. Eileen Burns; 6. Phillip Morrison; 7. Ryan Beech; 8. Ryan Currie; 9. Adrian Kerr; 10. Laura Campbell; 11. Alan Blair; 12. David Dougan; 13. Peter Drennan.

Paul McQuillian , Ingus Meija, Sammy Foster, Nigel Tennant, Simon Taggart , Martin Robb, Ryan Bankhead , Richard Reid all DNF.

BRC members competed in final round of the Spires TT Trilogy League.

Ryan McNeilly was 2nd fastest road bike over the 22 mile circuit and 1st in the league for road bike category

Laura Campbell placed 2nd woman and took third overall in the league

Eileen Burns placed 3rd on the night and 1st Woman overall. Eileen’s performance over the 3 events meant that she not only won the women’s overall category, but also claimed the overall winner!

Eileen has been selected on Ireland Squad to compete in TT at the European Games on 8th August 2018.

She will compete on road and track in Glasgow.

Well done to Laura Campbell who has been selected to represent Cycling Ulster later in the month at the Omagh 3 Day race.

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500