BRC trio crowned Queen's of the Road!

Shaun Oneill


Shaun Oneill


ON Sunday the Irish National Road Race Championships took place in Sligo.

In the Womens race BRC was represented by Eileen Burns, Katharine Smyth and Laura Campbell.

After about a hour into the race a group of twenty were already clear with all of the BRC girls in the group.

Coming towards the climb for the last time the race was all over the place with the group of twenty breaking up into three groups.

There was five leaders up the road and Katharine Smyth was in it and they were two minutes ahead of the chasers.

It was obvious that the winner was coming from here.

In the second group of seven riders BRC had Eileen Burns with Laura Blair in the third group.

Katharine Smyth finished a fabulous fith place overall and with Eileen and Laura riding hard the girls won the All Ireland Championship Ladies team award.

Earlier in the week the club had Eileen Burns taking silver in the Ladies TT, Stephen Workman taking 3rd in the Paracycling Solo C1-5. and Darrell Erwin taking 4th in the Handcycling H1-5.

A big well done to all riders who represented Ballymena Road Club during the All Ireland Championships.

Meanwhile, last Wednesday night saw 10 riders tackle the Coast Road from Larne to Waterfoot and back to contest the McQuigg Cup 50 Miles TT.

The club used this course as a 3rd choice following the Race Committee's decision to stop all racing on the A26 to Antrim.

The A8 was also unavailable due to road works.

Thanks to all riders and marshals who assisted with the event.

McQuigg Cup 50 MilesTT

 McQuigg Cup 50 Miles TT Full Results:

1. Edward Kearney (Phoenix CC) – 1:51.58

Richard Maybin (BRC) – 1:53:48

David Heagney (Carn) – 2:01:49

Hall Booth (BRC) – 2:10:45

Eddie Hampton (BRC) – 2:11:34

Bill Johnston (Madigan) – 2:14:32

Adrian Kerr (BRC) – 2:15:25

Martin Ruddy (BRC) – 2:17:31

John Maxwell (BRC) – 2:33:10

The McQuigg Cup is awarded to fastest handicapped time. 

The winner this year is Richard Maybin with a net handicap time of 2:00:49. Well done Richard, another club trophy to add to your collection in 2018!

Ballymena Road Club's Championship Road Race takes place in Broughshane this Wednesday night over 4 laps (32 miles) of the Broughshane - Knockan Road - Turtles Corner - Cushendall Road - Ballygarvey Road Circuit.

With a wealth of talent in BRC ranks, this year's race should be an open one.

Sign on is at Broughshane Community Centre Car Park from 6.15pm. Please note that there is also a band parade in Broughshane on Wednesday, so we advise that all riders, marshals and spectators enter the village via the Ballygarvey Road.

This event is for club riders only.

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500