Cullybackey HPS dinner and prize night

Thursday, 9 November 2017

CULLYBACKEY HPS returned recently to the local Restaurant Toast on the village Main Street for the annual dinner and presentation.
Member's friends and guests were welcomed by the Chairman Neil Anderson. Guests included sponsors Derek and Geraldine McDowell, Brian Hayes from the Bridge Garage who covered the Single Bird Nomination for the last number of years with other sponsorship, local scribe Homer and Rosie and also present Hubert Logan and wife Jean dedicated member since 1963 he was Treasurer for many years and has just retired from his role as Ring Secretary.
The leading lofts were - Alan Darragh, Gibson & O'Neill, Mr & Mrs Martin Sempey, Chris McIntyre, McAlonan Bros and J & J Greer. Alan Darragh after a few seasons in Ahoghill came to the fore winning Russell Family Cup in 1986 and has won every year since bar 2008 when the Champion Loft award was won by Gary Gibson. Over 30 x times Highest Prize-winner for Alan Darragh, and up to date has been the loft to beat.
The 2017 season I believe was the most competitive for a long time and although Alan Darragh won most of the NIPA races some 13 were shared out among other lofts.
*Full report and pictures in this week's Ballymena Guardian.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete