Mid and East Antrim Borough’s Sports Awards Evening

Thursday, 23 February 2017

ON Thursday night the Mid and East Antrim Council's Sports Award winners will be announced!
Venue for the glittering gala is Larne Leisure Centre (6.30pm).
Mayor, Councillor Audrey Wales, will host the occasion.
Top of the list of nine award categories to be presented at the awards ceremony is the Sportsperson of the Year.
"Four top ranking sports people have been nominated in this prestigious category," said Mayor Wales, MBE.
"Their sporting achievements are numerous and are typical of the many people from this Borough who have excelled in their sport of choice over the past year."
In the running for the coveted title are - in no special order - Andrew Kyle; Eileen Burns; Martin McHugh and Jenny Lewis.
Andrew Kyle, at the World Indoor Bowls Council Singles and Mixed Pairs tournaments, in Jersey, won Gold.
Ballymena Road Club cyclist Eileen Burns took national time trial records over 25 mile and 50 mile distances and that success won her selection for the Ulster Women's Road Racing Team and represented the National Irish Elite Female Track Team and won Gold at the Dublin International event in the Individual Pursuit.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete