Both Under 21 football championship titles come to the South West

Thursday, 8 December 2016

Both Under 21 football championship titles come to the South West thumbnailThe Aldergrove team winners of the Under 21 football championship title with a six point win against neighbours Glenavy. GB49GAA1-P50

THE Antrim football season finally came to an end at Cargin on Sunday when the finals of both the Under 21 A and B championships were decided, just a day ahead of the Annual Convention.
With three South West sides among the four finalists, it is perhaps not surprising that both titles came in that direction, Aldergrove successful at B level and Aghagallon winning the A crown.
Aghagallon 2-5 Rossa 1-5
Beaten by St John's in last season's decider, Aghagallon made amends this time round two penalty awards instrumental in giving them the A crown.
The first came after 11 minutes, at which stage Rossa led with James Connolly and Sean Pat Donnelly points. Rory Loughran made no mistake from the spot kick and the Loughshore side looked on their way.
The South Antrim side were having none of it Donnelly grabbing a goal a couple of minutes later.
When James Connolly followed with his second point at the end of the first quarter they looked in control with a three point advantage.
While they failed to score again before the break they curtailed the active St Mary's attack to just two points, Nial McShane in action in 22 and Oisin Lenaghan tapping over another almost on the break, but still led by a point, 1-3 to 1-2.
A Shane Russell point early in the second half saw the South West side level up with a fourth minute penalty award the deciding factor.
*Read the full story in this week's Ballymena Guardian.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete