Six battle it out to become North Antrimís new MP

Thursday, 8 June 2017

NORTH Antrim's 77,000 voters go to the polls this Thursday, June 8, to elect the area's new MP.
There are six candidates to choose from and, in the order they will appear on the ballot paper, they are: Timothy Gaston, TUV; Cara McShane, Sinn Fein; Jackson Minford, Ulster Unionist; Declan O'Loan, SDLP; Patricia O'Lynn, Alliance and Ian Paisley, DUP.
Mr Paisley is the outgoing going MP and had a massive 11,546 majority in 2015, polling well over a third of the total votes cast.
It would be a shock of seismic proportions if he was to be defeated and the main interest is likely to be in the size of his majority.
The Election campaign has been disrupted nationally by the terrorists attacks in London and Manchester but all candidates will spend the last 48 hours before polling starts trying to get their voters out.
Prime Minister, Therea May, called the 'snap' election because she said she wanted a stronger mandate in her negotiations to take the UK out of the European Union.
*Read the full story in this week's Ballymena Guardian.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete