Murray crowned NI champion at Raceway

Thursday, 8 June 2017

SHANE Murray is Northern Ireland's new National Hot Rod Champion for 2017!
He was crowned winner after a nail biting conclusion to the Hankook Performance Tyres sponsored NI Series at Ballymena Raceway on Friday evening.
Murray began the final round in fourth place overall, behind John Christie, Jaimie McCurdy and World Champion Adam Maxwell.
The two heat races brought victories for Ian McReynolds and Adam Heatrick, while the title contenders fought tooth and nail for every available point on offer. Heading into the last race of the 14 round series Christie still occupied the top spot.
But things could not have been closer in the table, with McCurdy just a single point behind and Murray only 2 points adrift!
Heat two winner Heatrick started on pole for the finale and held off a strong challenge throughout from Adam Hylands to record his second victory of the night, but all eyes were on the scrap between Murray, Christie and McCurdy that would determine the destiny of the NI title.
*Read the full story in this week's Ballymena Guardian.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete